Malaysia. GATT effective August 31, 1957. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Malaysia. Malaysia extends some preferential rates to Canada.)

Malta. Canada — United Kingdom trade agreement of 1937 was legal basis for exchange of British preferential tariff treatment. This agreement was terminated January 31, 1973. GATT effective September 21, 1964.

Mauritius. GATT effective March 12, 1968. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Nauru. Relations governed by trade agreement of 1937 between Canada and the United Kingdom. This agreement was terminated January 31, 1973. (Canada accords British perferential treatment to Nauru.)

New Zealand. Trade agreement in force May 24, 1932, modified by protocol of May 13, 1970 and exchange of notes July 26, 1973. GATT effective July 30, 1948. (Bindings of rates of duty on specified products and the exchange of tariff preferences.)

Nigeria. Relations governed by trade agreement of 1937 between Canada and the United Kingdom. GATT effective October 1, 1960. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Nigeria. Nigeria extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Rhodesia. Canada does not recognize the present government of Rhodesia. (Trade embargo exists between Canada and Rhodesia with certain humanitarian exceptions.)

Sierra Leone. Relations governed by trade agreement of 1937 between Canada and the United Kingdom. GATT effective April 27, 1961. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Sierra Leone. Sierra Leone extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Singapore. GATT effective August 9, 1965. (Canada and Singapore exchange British preferential tariff treatment.)

Sri Lanka. GATT effective July 29, 1948. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Swaziland. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Swaziland.)

Tanzania, United Republic of. GATT effective for Tanganyika December 9, 1961 and extended to Zanzibar upon formation of United Republic, April 23, 1964. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Tanzania. Tanzania extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Tonga. GATT de facto application. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Trinidad and Tobago. Relations are based on a Canada — British West Indies trade agreement and protocol thereto (see British West Indies). GATT effective August 31, 1962. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Uganda. GATT effective October 9, 1962. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Uganda. Uganda extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

United Kingdom. GATT effective January 1, 1948. (Exchange of preferential tariff rates with some minor reservations by Canada.)

Western Samoa. Relations are based on a Canada — New Zealand trade agreement. A general settlement to this agreement was declared in 1962. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Zambia. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Zambia. Zambia extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)